Biography[ edit ] Traviss is originally from the Portsmouth area. She worked as both a journalist and defence correspondent before turning her attention to writing fiction, [1] and has also served in both the Territorial Army and the Royal Naval Auxiliary Service. Traviss is a graduate of the Clarion Science Fiction and Fantasy workshop. It was shortlisted for the John W.

Author:Shakami Mazushakar
Language:English (Spanish)
Published (Last):1 September 2019
PDF File Size:5.44 Mb
ePub File Size:3.87 Mb
Price:Free* [*Free Regsitration Required]

Beschreibung bei Amazon Karen Traviss has become one of the top writers of science fiction stories in recent time. Her work is popular for providing a unique voice to many prominent properties.

Her original science fiction work is also popular for delving into how the human race works and how difficult it can be for people to interact with one another. A native of Portsmouth, Traviss had worked as a journalist before focusing on fiction writing. She worked in the Territorial Army and Royal Naval Auxiliary Service, two groups that have been highly influential to many of her works.

She has also studied at the Clarion Science Fiction and Fantasy Workshop, one of the most prominent science fiction writing programs in the world.

Her work has made her highly in demand among many prominent publishers. The story takes place several centuries in the future as many alien species have been meeting with each other around the world and have their own conflicting beliefs. Much of the series focuses on Shan Frankland, a figure who is caught in the middle of many conflicts. The Gears of War video game series has been the subject of many stories that Traviss has written.

The stories take place around the many events that happen in the Gears of War series. These include stories that profile many of the characters in the games and some of the actions that led to what happens in the video games themselves. She worked on the Republic Commando series and later on the Legacy of the Force series. Many of her stories focus on the Mandalorians, key figures in the Star Wars series. She also writes about many of the clone troopers in the series and what comes about with regards to their influences and identities.

She has also worked on the Halo video game series. Traviss has a few books that focus on how the events surrounding the warfare in the Halo series have developed.

There are a few other original series that Traviss has been working on too including the Going Gray military thriller series. Dick Award, a prominent science fiction writing award named for the famed author.

The same novel was also nominated for a John W. She also received Philip K. Dick Award nominations in and for her books Ally and Judge. As Shan Frankland comes onto the planet to find an old human colony, it becomes clear that there is a strong war between many of these figures. These include many who are fighting over a parasite on the planet that is believed to provide those who hold it with immortality. This comes after a weaker alien race has gone extinct. The humans from Earth are blamed for the destruction of that species.

But as it turns out, Shan may hold the key to resolving the conflict but not in a way that many readers might expect. In this story, she is forced to choose between two sides that are struggling to survive on a new planet.

But as Shan has to take sides, the people of Earth become fearful as their failed attempts to broker peace could cause their planet to become the next target to attack. The story is popular for looking into what causes many people to decide upon certain strategies or ideas when trying to help others and the consequences that often come with such actions.

As a series of clone troopers travel along a rival planet, they meet with many distinct characters including separatists, slave traders and some unusual natives. It is here where many of these troopers aim to learn more about themselves and why they are here and what their true purposes are. But this is anything but easy for them to do as there is danger all around the planet. Jacen and Jaina, the children of Han and Leia, are divided as war starts to spread across the galaxy.

The story marks a major turning point in the series as Jacen starts to fall into the same path of corruption that Anakin Skywalker went down as he eventually became Darth Vader. The story also brings about the appearance of Boba Fett, a bounty hunter who gets in the way of Jacen and Jaina. It focuses on a group of soldiers as they travel to the titular Aspho Fields.

This occurs as a mysterious alien race travels out to destroy much of humanity. From her many original stories to some of her works in the Star Wars universe among others, Karen Traviss continues to be a popular name in science fiction literature.

Take a look at her stories to see what makes her work outstanding. These stories are appealing for their many characters, distinct situations and intriguing insights. We recently conducted a poll among visitors and the Memory Man series was voted the 8th most favourite series by all readers. If you ARE an avid reader of it then great news — a new book is coming out very soon!!! Pre-order now. Please Note The links beside each book title will take you to Amazon, who I feel are the best online retailer for books where you can read more about the book, or purchase it.

Please note that as an Amazon Associate, I earn money from qualifying purchases. Recommendations Every 2 weeks we send out an e-mail with Book Recommendations. Insert your e-mail below to start getting these recommendations. If you see one missing just send me an e-mail below. Then you need to read the Coffeehouse Mysteries. This series by Cleo Coyle has been going strong since and is still publishing highly rated books every year. An excellent series to get you through the cold months.

More details. However there is a lot more to Blake than just that series. He has written some of the best sci-fi books there is such as Dark Matter and Recursion. More Details.


Karen Traviss



Gears of War



Gears of War Series




Related Articles